fbpx
by Maëlle Viaouët
January 23, 2019

An interview with Yvonne Léon, creator of the eponymous jewel brand Yvonne Léon

Concise. Yvonne Léon doesn’t dwell on what is superfluous. She gives life to what laid buried deep within her. Five years ago, she put herself into motion. Every sketch and draft from her notebook ended up as a jewel. Quite naturally. It happened fluidly, without any particular foresight. Since then, she has opened a shop on the Left Bank. While the opening of a second shop is underway, Yvonne strolls, draws and models what makes a woman fashionable. Let’s meet with a creator for whom jewelry feels like a second home.

“Look and Read…”

 

Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop
Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop
Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop

the interview

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

You are today the founder of Yvonne Léon Paris, a French jewelry brand. What’s been your professional path?

YVONNE LÉON

I attended Esmod, a fashion design school. I then multiplied the opportunities of internship, either in the media or in the prêt-à-porter industry. Afterwards, I found my way back to jewelry. Well, not my way back, since I had not been there. Given that my family works in that industry, it seemed obvious to step back into that world.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What made you decide to reconnect with « your childhood’s jewelry » ?

YVONNE LÉON

I never really left jewelry. At the same time as I built my work experience, I developed projects and creations related to jewelry. To craft jewelry was only the next logical step. I didn’t think to myself: « I stop what I’m currently doing in order to pick jewelry ».

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

How did Yvonne Léon become what it is now: a French brand with vintage inspirations as well as a « brand new » look on jewelry?

YVONNE LÉON

Exactly five years ago, I created my own company. It felt quite natural. I designed several models or I recycled models that I had designed ten years ago. I gathered all my ideas into what would become a collection. I’d even say that my collection was made by itself, without any marketing plan. I quickly encountered afterwards important resellers such as Montaigne Market and Browns in London. Lots of doors were opened. There was real demand. The timing was fitting.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What does it take to « create » a jewel?

YVONNE LÉON

You start with the desire of wearing something particular, of linking the product to a definite outfit or moment. That desire can absolutely stem from a painting, an object or a range of colors. I never imagine a product as the missing piece of a collection. Starting from my ideas, I sketch. On the paper, I model what I want to model. I then develop a 3D sample, a maquette, a piece of wax with the volume imprints (just like the wax from the dentist) and the jewel comes out of it.

Regarding distribution, I organize my collection meetings around the Fashion Week. Otherwise, I correspond by mail with the clients who pass orders.
What’s different with the way Yvonne Léon proceeds is that I wear the jewels that I make, I try them, I check whether they can be worn or not. I live with them. I make the jewel my own. It’s not just something that I design and then sell afterwards.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

How did you find your trademark?

YVONNE LÉON

An Yvonne Léon jewel is a jewel that pleases both me and my team. That I want to make. That has a playful character. That makes me smile. That is well-designed when it comes to volume. That acknowledges vintage inspiration, including in the way we craft the gold. We keep on trying to multiply the ways the jewel can be worn.

Our DNA consists in mixing genres, such as a crab with a viviane. Our particularity as a jewel brand also comes from the fact that our earrings are sold individually. The client can choose to wear one or two depending on her style. If she is more into a classic style, she will buy the full pair.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

You admitted that you come from a family of « creators - jewelers ». What is creativity to you, then?

YVONNE LÉON

When I was a girl, I used to see my father making models out of modeling clay. He would set stones on it. It may have influenced me. I am not sure.
In a way, my father has been a role model. He is behind the diamond below-the-ear. He made it for my mother in the 80s because she wasn’t ready to pierce her ear a second time. That technique provides movement, added creativity. It is a family creation, which I reworked afterwards with bees and pearls.

My father’s opinion still matters a lot today. His expertise as stone setter provides me with a very technical feedback. He gives me advice on the volumes, so that they can fit better to the ear.
(hesitations)

What I don’t like to do is witnessing what others are making. It will unconsciously inspire me with ideas. And that isn’t creativity. Creativity is listening to oneself.
I prefer to have free rein. The more directed I am, the more difficult I find it to create.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

When your inspiration fails you, what do you do to find your way back?

YVONNE LÉON

When it happens, I don’t think about it. I carry on. I focus on other things. I don’t force myself. There is no rule, even though going to flea markets helps me to recover.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What do you do when you wake-up?

YVONNE LÉON

I drink a lot of coffee in the morning. I bring my son to school. I go to the office and at the end of the day, I leave it (laughs). Oh, I almost forgot: on the way to work, I always take a coffee, in a neighborhood coffee of the 1st arrondissement.

My schedule changes every day. Depending on the emails received, we dress a never-ending list of tasks. That’s how we fix our priorities and objectives. To create a collection, I save specific hours to avoid getting overbooked. Or sometimes, I can also design the collection from home. To launch a collection, I can work on it one week or one month, it varies. Most of the time, I realize about four collections per year. There’s no ground rule since we always welcome novelties. I don’t want to limit myself to collections. I want to be able to launch production whenever I want to.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What brand or creator do you tend to praise and recommend?

YVONNE LÉON

Too much! In prêt-à-porter fashion, I like Jacquemus for the smartness of its cuts. I notice the craftsmanship behind the cuts. I also wear Acne. It’s original, uncommon, and wearable. I very much like Barrie, additionally. I am in awe of their stitching, it’s refined!

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What is your perspective on jewelry and its industry?

YVONNE LÉON

Mindsets are changing. Men aren’t expected to buy jewelry for their spouse anymore. Women indulge themselves, and to them, a jewel is now a common accessory.

In the future, I imagine that jewelry will be more affordable. People will consume it differently; perhaps they will consume it more because they will renew it more. I can already observe this with my clients, who are loyal customers. At first they want an individual earring, then a ring, then a second earring. I also notice that they wear the jewel that they buy, they don’t lock it in a casket.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What’s your motto (which you repeat all around you) ?

YVONNE LÉON

Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Opening the shop was a challenge, the timing wasn’t exactly fitting. Eventually, we decided to pursue it to the end. We did that one year and a half ago. The icing on the cake. It was important for the brand to grow and to have its very own shop.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What does your desk look like?

YVONNE LÉON

It really is a mess, but I always find my way around it. I don’t stray from it, I’m always close by. You can always spot on it a cup of coffee, cookies or something equivalent.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What is the Yvonne Léon jewel you never take off?

YVONNE LÉON

It is the feuilletis. It is a long white-gold and diamond chain with vintage inspiration. I wear it constantly, during the day as well as in the evening. I take it off for bed, of course. This model goes well with everything. It’s one of the first jewels I’ve ever commercialized.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

What does the future hold for Yvonne Léon Paris? Some secret we could share around?

YVONNE LÉON

We would like to open a second shop, preferably on the Right Bank. This project is underway!

One year ago, we also launched a capsule collection with nine-carat gold, which is more affordable but remains within the spirit of the brand. This line doesn’t use diamond as much, and the alloy is different, yet of the same quality. The capsule collection’s content gets richer with each season and new collection passing. There always is renewal going on.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Would you have some advice to impart to creative people interested by entrepreneurship?

YVONNE LÉON

Do what you enjoy doing!

fbpx
par Léa Taïeb
janvier 23, 2019

Interview de Yvonne Léon, créatrice de la marque de joaillerie éponyme

Concise. Yvonne Léon évite le superflu. Elle fabrique ce qu’elle avait gardé enfoui. Il y a cinq ans, elle s’est lancée. Tout ce qui était gribouillé ou croqué dans son carnet a fini en bijoux. Tout naturellement. Sans rien préméditer, ça a roulé. Depuis, elle a ouvert une boutique, rive gauche. En attendant, l’ouverture d’une deuxième enseigne, Yvonne se balade, dessine et matérialise ce qui rend la femme coquette. Rencontre avec une créatrice qui a “la joaillerie dans la peau”.

« Regardez. Lisez… »

 

Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop
Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop
Capsule Mademoiselle, disponible sur notre Shop

l'interview

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Aujourd’hui, créatrice de Yvonne Léon Paris, une maison française de bijoux, quelle est votre histoire professionnelle ?

YVONNE LÉON

J’ai suivi une formation dans une école de mode, Esmod. Suite à cela, j’ai multiplié les stages aussi bien dans la presse que dans le prêt-à-porter. Et après je suis revenue à la joaillerie. Enfin, je ne suis pas revenue, car je n’y étais pas. Comme ma famille travaille dans la joaillerie, c’était une évidence de re-baigner dans ce milieu-là.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quel a été le déclic pour reprendre contact avec « la joaillerie de votre enfance » ?

YVONNE LÉON

Je n’ai jamais vraiment lâché la joaillerie. En parallèle de mes expériences professionnelles, je développais des projets, des créations en lien avec la joaillerie. Faire de la joaillerie, c’était la suite logique. Je n’ai pas dit : “j’arrête quelque chose pour la joaillerie”.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Comment se construit Yvonne Léon, une marque française, vintage et qui a un « regard neuf » sur la joaillerie ?

YVONNE LÉON

Il y a cinq ans exactement, j’ai créé ma société. Ça été très naturel. J’ai réalisé plusieurs modèles ou j’ai repris des modèles que j’avais imaginé, il y a dix ans. J’ai réuni toutes mes idées, ce qui a donné lieu à une collection. Je dirais même que ma collection s’est construite toute seule, sans plan marketing. Puis, j’ai rencontré très vite des revendeurs importants comme Montaigne Market et Browns à Londres. Beaucoup de portes se sont ouvertes. La demande était là. Ça s’est bien goupillé.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Comment faîtes-vous pour « créer » un bijou ?

YVONNE LÉON

Au début, tout part d’une envie de porter. D’associer le produit à une tenue, à un moment. L’envie, peut très bien venir d’un tableau, d’un objet ou d’une gamme de couleurs. Jamais, je n’imagine un produit parce qu’il manque à la collection. A partir de mes idées, je fais des croquis. Sur le papier, j’assemble ce que j’ai envie d’assembler. Ensuite, je développe un échantillon 3D, une maquette, une cire pour le volume (comme une cire de dentiste) et le bijou sort.

Quant à la distribution, j’organise mes rendez-vous de collection en période de Fashion Week. Sinon, j’échange par mails avec les clients qui commandent.
Ce qui différencie Yvonne Léon, dans la façon de faire, c’est que je porte les bijoux que je fabrique, je les essaie, je vérifie s’ils sont portables. Je vis avec. Je m’approprie le bijou. Ce n’est pas juste quelque chose que j’imagine et que je vends.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

D’où vient votre marque de fabrique ?

YVONNE LÉON

Un bijou Yvonne Léon, c’est un bijou qui me plaît, qui plaît à mon équipe. Que j’ai envie de fabriquer. Qui a un côté ludique. Qui me fait sourire. Qui est bien pensé au niveau des volumes. Qui est d’inspiration vintage notamment dans le travail de l’or. On essaie toujours de faire en sorte, que le bijou soit porté autrement.

Notre ADN, c’est de mélanger un crabe avec une viviane, ce mélange des genres. Aussi, en tant que marque de joaillerie, nos boucles d’oreilles sont vendues à l’unité, c’est notre particularité. La cliente est libre d’en porter une ou deux, tout dépend de son style. Si elle est plutôt classique, elle achètera la paire.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous confiez venir d’une famille de « créateurs - joailliers », quelle est donc votre définition de la créativité ?

YVONNE LÉON

Petite, je voyais mon père créer des modèles à partir d’une pâte à modeler. Il y posait des pierres. Peut-être que ça m’a influencée. Je ne sais pas.
Mon père est un modèle, d’une certaine façon. Il est à l’origine du dessous d’oreilles en diamant. Il l’a fabriqué pour ma mère dans les années 80 parce qu’elle ne voulait pas se percer une deuxième fois l’oreille. Cette technique, permet de donner du mouvement, d’ajouter de la créativité. C’est une création de famille, que j’ai retravaillé après avec des abeilles, des perles.

L’œil de mon père compte encore aujourd’hui. Son métier de sertisseur donne un point de vue très technique. Il me conseille sur les volumes, pour qu’ils s’adaptent au mieux à l’oreille.
(hésitations)

Moi ce que je n’aime pas faire, c’est voir ce que font les autres. Inconsciemment ça donne des idées. Et ce n’est pas ça la créativité. La créativité, c’est s’écouter.
Je préfère avoir le champ libre. Plus j’ai des directives, plus j’ai des difficultés à créer.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Si un jour, votre inspiration peine, que faîtes-vous pour vous la retrouver ?

YVONNE LÉON

Quand ça arrive, je n’y pense pas. Je me laisse aller. Je pense à autre chose. Je ne me force pas. Il n’y a pas de règle. Même si, les puces et les brocantes m’aident à me ressourcer.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous vous réveillez que se passe-t-il ?

YVONNE LÉON

Le matin, je prends pas mal de café. J’emmène mon fils à l’école. Je vais au bureau et le soir, je ressors (rires). Ah et j’ai presque oublié, sur le chemin pour aller au travail, je prends toujours un café, dans un café de quartier du 1er arrondissement.

Mon programme change tous les jours. En fonction des mails du jour, on établit une liste de tâches, qui n’en finit pas. C’est comme ça que l’on fixe les priorités, les objectifs. Pour créer une collection, je me bloque des tranches horaires, pour éviter d’être débordée. Ou sinon, il m’arrive d’imaginer la collection de chez moi. Pour sortir une collection, je peux travailler une semaine ou un mois, ça varie. En moyenne, je réalise quatre collections par an, ça peut varier. Il n’y a pas de règle, parce qu’on a sans cesse des nouveautés. Je n’ai pas envie de me limiter à des collections. Je veux pouvoir produire quand je le souhaite.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quelle est la marque ou le créateur que vous avez tendance à encenser et à recommander ?

YVONNE LÉON

J’en ai trop ! Pour le prêt-à-porter, j’aime Jacquemus parce que tout simplement, c’est bien coupé, je remarque le travail dans les coupes. Je porte aussi Acne. C’est original, peu commun et portable. Il y a aussi Barrie, que j’aime beaucoup. J’admire le travail de la maille. C’est raffiné.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quel est votre regard, votre analyse sur la joaillerie et son industrie ?

YVONNE LÉON

Les mentalités changent. Ce n’est plus à un homme d’acheter une pièce de joaillerie à sa femme. Les femmes se font plaisir, le bijou est désormais, un accessoire comme un autre.

Dans le futur, j’imagine que la joaillerie sera plus accessible. On consommera autrement, peut-être que l’on consommera plus pour changer plus souvent. C’est ce que je constate déjà avec mes clientes, qui sont des fidèles. Elles ont envie d’une boucle d’oreilles, puis d’une bague, puis d’une deuxième boucle d’oreilles. Je vois aussi qu’elles portent le bijou qu’elles achètent, elles ne le mettent pas au coffre.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Votre citation – manifeste (que vous partagez à qui veut l’entendre) ?

YVONNE LÉON

Qui ne tente rien, n’a rien !

L’ouverture de la boutique, c’était un challenge, le moment pour ouvrir n’était pas forcément le bon. Et puis, on est allés au bout. On l’a fait il y a un an et demi. La cerise sur le gâteau. C’était important pour la marque d’évoluer et d’avoir une boutique en nom propre.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous travaillez dans quel cadre, quel est votre espace de travail ?

YVONNE LÉON

C’est vraiment le bordel, mais je m’y retrouve toujours. Je n’en bouge pas. Je ne suis jamais loin. Vous y trouverez toujours une tasse de café et des cookies ou quelque chose qui y ressemble.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quel bijou Yvonne Léon ne vous quitte pas d’un pas ?

YVONNE LÉON

C’est le feuilletis. Un long sautoir en or blanc et diamant, inspiration vintage. Je le porte tout le temps, la journée comme le soir. Je l’enlève, bien évidemment pour dormir. C’est un modèle qui va avec n’importe quelle pièce. L’un des premiers bijoux que j’ai sorti.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Quel avenir pour Yvonne Léon Paris ? Un secret à ne pas garder ?

YVONNE LÉON

On voudrait ouvrir une deuxième boutique, plutôt rive droite. Le projet est en devenir !

Aussi, il y a un an, on a lancé une collection capsule en or 9 carats, plus accessible au niveau du prix et toujours dans l’esprit de la marque. La ligne repose moins sur le diamant et l’alliage est différent, sans être de moins belle qualité. La collection capsule s’enrichit au gré des saisons et des collections. Il y a du nouveau, tout le temps.

TOWNHOUSE (LÉA)

Vous auriez un conseil à donner à ceux qui souhaitent entreprendre ?

YVONNE LÉON

Faîtes ce que vous voulez faire !