fbpx
by Maëlle Viaouet, Diane Vermont
November 14, 2019

Why brands are now more sensitive to entertainment strategies?

The actual society is becoming a society of leisure and entertainment. People are looking for insouciance and light-hearted ways to be. Companies must reply to this demand and even take advantage of it for their marketing strategies. Costumers can’t stand being bored anymore, and a lot of new parries have been developped.

« More brands are now thinking about entertainment strategies. It’s an easy way to surprise your customers, and also a good way to target the new generation

No more holds

All the spheres of the society have become digitalised, which has exacerbated the need of entertainment. Holds, moments of waiting, or boredom are filled with an easy and fast access to games and recreational activities of all sorts. The success of mobile apps to learn a foreign language (like Duolinguo for example), or recreational apps to create some animated pictures (like iLingual), or even useless but very addictive games (like Candy Crush or 2048), shows that these activities that are just a hobby, has a very big advertising potential thanks to the audience that it gathers. The game publisher King Digital Saga has entered the Stock in 2013 after the global success of its famous game Candy Crush Saga. The simplicity of the game is baffling : you have to gather three alike lollies to make them disappear. But the free-to-play mode is a safe business plan because at first, you can download the game for free, and then if you want to go forward into higher levels, you can pay for some options and transitions. You make the addicts clients get to purchase something out of you.

Jacquemus Make Up
Video campaign Chanel cosmetics, 2013

Game and customer relationship

Beyond games, all the today’s interfaces are judged in the light of how recreational and entertaining they are. A lot of digital services try to replicate the principles, rules and habbits of games to lead costumers to their products or services. We are witnessing the gamification of the customer relationship, in order to catch their attentions more easily and to make them faithful quicker. Nike has launched Nike+ Fuelband for example ; it allows you to get some sport training with your friends to then gain some points and take some challenges. The other explanation to the success of games and entertainment could be the willing for people to forget about the world and its problems. People would be looking for more shallow activities to beat their stress, anxiety, fears. Games, and entertainment in general, become the way to withdraw from the world for a little moment, to reach a light-hearted state of mind while maintening a social bond.

Even luxury brands understood this new trend. A few months ago Chanel decided to set up the « Coco Lab » in the Parisian famous department store, Le Bon Marché. The idea was to launch its new jewelry line with an entertainment strategy. Chanel nurses were welcoming their clients and asked them to pass an ophtalmologic exam to verify their eyesights. During the test clients were able to read and discover the univers of the new jewelry line.

An amazing way to launch a new line. Clients felt really enthusiast face to this strategy, they loved to be part of an unexpected experience.

It was also a good idea to target a new generation of customers. This kind of installation is really « instagrammable », the new generation took pictures and then repost it all over social medias.

But it wasn’t the first time that Chanel was playing with this strategy. Remember a few years ago the make up animation has been viewed by thousand customers all over the world. It was the begining of a new playful marketing strategy which is now evolving.

We also have in mind the fashion shows set up, the window/display of some stores that can of course also been qualified as an entertainment strategy for brands.

Smaller brands are also playing with influencers to launch competitions on social medias where clients can win products if they’re in.

Then to close this really intersting article, we’ve been really amazed by Glossier’s new announcement. The cosmetics brand just released an instagram video to launch its new brand : Glossier PLAY. An exciting teaser that shows us that they’re really in the GAME !!!

Keep an eye on it….

fbpx
par Aglaé Dancette, Diane Vermont
février 26, 2019

Pourquoi les stratégies de divertissement séduisent-elles les marques ?

La société contemporaine est une société de plus en plus tournée vers le loisir et le divertissement. Une recherche de légèreté et d’insouciance à laquelle les entreprises doivent répondre, et qu’elles peuvent utiliser à bon escient comme stratégie marketing. Les consommateurs ne supportent plus de s’ennuyer, et de nombreuses parades ont été développées dans ce sens.

« Les marques sont de plus en plus nombreuses à réfléchir à des stratégies de divertissement. C’est un moyen de surprendre qui est très apprécié par la nouvelle génération.»

Halte aux temps morts

La digitalisation dans toutes les sphères de la société a contribué à exacerber le besoin de divertissement. Les moments creux, les moments d’attente ou d’ennui sont comblés par l’accès rapide et facile à des jeux et activités ludiques en tout genre. Le succès d’applications mobiles pour apprendre une langue étrangère (Duolinguo par exemple), ou d’applications ludiques pour créer des photos animées (iLingual par exemple), ou encore de jeux inutiles mais addictifs (Candy Crush ou 2048), illustre le fait que ces activités perçues comme de simples passe-temps, constituent en réalité une force publicitaire remarquable par l’audience qu’ils rassemblent. L’éditeur de jeux King Digital Saga est entré en bourse en 2013 grâce au succès mondiale du jeu Candy Crush Saga. La simplicité du jeu est déconcertante : rassembler trois bonbons identiques pour les faire disparaître. Mais le modèle free-to-play est un business plan imparable puisque le jeu est d’abord téléchargeable gratuitement, puis pour progresser plus rapidement dans les niveaux, il y a des micro-transitions payantes. Les joueurs addicts sont poussés à l’achat.

Maquillage Jacquemus
Campagne vidéo Chanel cosmétiques, 2013

Le jeu au cœur de la relation client

Au-delà des jeux en eux-mêmes, toutes les interfaces actuelles sont jugées à l’aune du divertissement, du ludique. De nombreux services digitaux essayent de reproduire les règles et habitudes du jeu pour engager le client sur un service ou un produit. On assiste effectivement à une forme de « gamification » de la relation client, dans le but de capter l’attention du consommateur plus facilement et de le fidéliser de façon également beaucoup plus rapide. Nike a mis en place Nike+ Fuelband par exemple, qui est la possibilité de réaliser des entraînements sportifs entre amis pour cumuler des points et relever des défis. Autre explication possible du succès du jeu dans toutes les sphères sociales est la volonté de se faire face aux angoisses du monde grâce à l’insignifiance. Le jeu, et le divertissement en général, deviennent l’occasion de se retirer du monde pour un instant et de retrouver un espace de légèreté, tout en maintenant le lien social.

Les enseignes de l’industrie du luxe l’ont bien compris, elles aussi. Il y a quelques mois la maison Chanel dévoilé son espace de divertissement Coco Lab au Bon Marché, à Paris. Des infirmières Chanel venaient vers vous afin de vous faire passer un bilan ophtalmique. Le tableau de lettres vous faisait lire « coco crush ». S’enchainait ainsi un parcours vous amenant à dévoiler des éléments de la nouvelle collection de joaillerie de l’enseigne.

Une façon ludique et surprenante pour les clients de la Maison qui selon les retours ont apprécié vivre une telle expérience en guise de découverte d’un nouveau produit.

Évidemment cela a également permis de laisser une génération plus jeune approcher l’enseigne puisque force est de constater qu’une telle installation se veut bien sur très relayable sur les réseaux sociaux.

Ce n’est pas la première fois que la Maison avait recours à une telle stratégie. Rappelons-nous des animations make up il y a déjà plusieurs années (cf. diaporama.

Enfin la mise en scène de décors exceptionnels au sein des lieux de vente/défilés s’affirme là encore telles des stratégies de divertissement.

Enfin nous pensons à la mise en place de jeux concours entre les marques et des influenceurs/personnalités qui pourrait là également faire partie intégrante de cette stratégie.

Il y a quelques jours l’enseigne américaine Glossier annonçait le lancement de sa nouvelle marque, Glossier Play à l’aide d’un teasing plus que surprenant. Cette nouvelle marque semble totalement être dans le game… Affaire à suivre