fbpx
by Aglaé Dancette
November 14, 2019

The key : please surprise your customers

Glossier's pop up, San Fransisco

After thinking about what you want your shop to look like, about the values of your brand and concept, the last step to success is to keep your visitors surprised.

 

Maintaining the concept

First of all, once the concept is well defined, it is important to maintain it over time : furnitures, some trendy elements that have lost their impact, you must renew everything very regularly if you want you store to remain attractive. On average, the renewal of a shop is required every four years, which is a pretty big investment every time. That’s why if you maintain the standing of the shop more often, you can wait a little longer before changing everything.

“How do you want them to feel like when clients come in your store ?”

Glossier at Rhea's Café de San Francisco
Glossier at Rhea's Café de San Francisco
Glossier at Rhea's Café de San Francisco

Homogenization of retail chains

The development of strong brands and concepts in retail leads to a phenomenon of homogenization of store chains. And this is a double-edged thing. On a side, the customers get familiar with it because they find the exact same wherever they are or go, the same products, organised the exact same way and in the same atmosphere. But on the other side, there is no surprise, and bit by bit all the city centers get to look alike. It can seem reassuring but costumers usually end up taking action against the companies that lack imagination. The difficulty is to find the right balance between between providing a creative experience to the clients and respecting the codes and values of the brand that make what it is.

 

Surprise !

How to create a different range of offers depending on the location of the shops, which means what flexibility do you allow the regional managers to have regarding the setting of the products, the music, the smells etc ? To last long, the goal is to entertain the curiosity and the interest of the visitors. Some big brands like Le Printemps, Les Galeries Lafayette, Le Bon Marché and more, succeed in regularly changing the atmosphere of their shops : discounts, new settings, weekly themes, musical events, all are elements that can make the experience of shopping recreational and entertaining. The concept-store Colette is also a good example of modernity on that matter, because they remained on the top of the trend for ten years. They made sure to renew their displays every week and to keep searching for the extraordinary products all the time. Everything had been thought to get success without even needing any advertisement.

A few months ago the challenge has been achieved by the American delicious cosmetics brand, Glossier. Indeed the brand has been able to surprise its customers by the opening of a unique and unexpected new concept in San Fransisco. The brand decided to partner with an American deli – Rhea’s Cafe for a few days pop up. It was such a big deal to mix food and cosmetics but they made it, and clients were really amazed about the experience.

French famous brands Pierre Hermé and l’Occitane also thought about a surprising concept. Last year they decided to partner and launch a totally new concept on the well know avenue des Champs Elysées, Paris.

Co-branding can finally also be the origin of surprising projects…

Keep an eye on it!

fbpx
par Aglaé Dancette
mars 11, 2019

Créer la surprise autour d’un concept

Glossier x Rhea's Café, San Francisco

Après avoir pensé votre lieu de vente, avoir mis en place un concept fort, et une ambiance en adéquation avec les valeurs de votre marque, la dernière étape marketing pour garantir le succès est de créer la surprise chez le consommateur.

 

Entretenir le concept

Tout d’abord, une fois le concept d’un magasin bien défini, il est important de savoir l’entretenir au fil du temps : mobilier, effets de mode qui perdent de leur impact, il faut veiller à renouveler régulièrement l’ensemble du point de vente, pour qu’il reste attrayant. Le renouvellement d’un magasin se fait en moyenne tous les quatre ans, ce qui représente un investissement non négligeable. C’est pourquoi entretenir une boutique de façon plus régulière peut permettre de repousser le moment où il faudra tout changer.

« Que souhaitez-vous que les visiteurs ressentent en entrant dans votre espace de vente ? »

Glossier au Rhea's Café de San Francisco
Glossier au Rhea's Café de San Francisco
Glossier au Rhea's Café de San Francisco

L’homogénéisation des espaces de vente

Le développement de marques et de concepts forts, entraîne également un phénomène d’homogénéisation des chaînes de magasins. Or, c’est à double tranchant. À la fois, les clients ne sont pas perdus puisqu’où qu’ils soient, ils retrouvent les mêmes produits, présentés de la même manière et dans la même ambiance. Mais également, il n’y a aucun effet de surprise, et tous les centres villes tendent à se ressembler. Ça peut être rassurant mais les visiteurs finissent bien souvent par sanctionner les enseignes qui manquent d’imagination et se lassent. Toute la difficulté réside à trouver le bon équilibre entre créativité dans l’offre de l’enseigne et respect des codes qui définissent la marque et permettent aux clients de l’identifier en tant que telle.

 

L’importance de créer un effet de surprise

Comment créer une variété d’offre selon l’implantation géographique d’un magasin, c’est-à-dire quelle marge de manœuvre une marque peut-elle laisser aux responsables de magasin régionaux ? L’objectif pour perdurer est de maintenir la curiosité et l’intérêt des visiteurs de son magasin. Certaines grandes enseignes comme Le Printemps, Le Bon Marché, Les Galeries Lafayette et autres, réussissent ce pari en renouvelant très régulièrement leurs facteurs d’ambiance : promotions, changement d’assortiment, semaines thématiques, happening musical, autant d’éléments qui permettent d’offrir une expérience de consommation qui soit aussi divertissante pour les visiteurs. Le concept-store Colette était également un bon exemple de modernité, puisque la boutique est restée pionnière en la matière pendant près de dix ans. De l’aménagement du point de vente, des vitrines, des assortiments revus toutes les semaines, aux produits tendances et hors du commun, tout était grandement étudié chez Colette pour que le succès soit au rendez-vous sans n’avoir jamais eu besoin de faire de publicité.

Il y a quelques mois le challenge a été remporté par l’enseigne américaine Glossier qui a su surprendre ses nombreux fans en mettant en place un concept totalement unique et inattendu. La marque a innové en collaborant avec le célèbre restaurant de San Francisco le Rhea’s Cafe (sous forme de pop up). Mélanger fast food et cosmétiques s’annonçait assez délicat mais le défi a été relevé.

Les enseignes françaises Pierre Hermé et l’Occitane avaient elles aussi réussi à nous surprendre en imaginant un espace de vente totalement novateur sur la célèbre avenue des Champs Elysées.

Ces co-branding peuvent finalement eux aussi être source de surprise et d’entertainment.

À suivre…